Picture 12 of 26
Public Records Office, next to the Capitol. Built in 1748, the building was clearly designed to avoid fire. There is neither basement nor attic, the original floor was paved with stones, and the interior walls and window jams were plastered-over brick. There were four fireplaces in the three-room structure to provide heat in the winter and drive off the damp and mold in the summer.
Click on the link for more information about Colonial Williamsburg