Picture 18 of 18
Construction began on the Fargo theater on September 15, 1925. Located at 314 Broadway, formerly the site of a fruit store known as the Idlekope Building, the theater took six months for completion.
1n 1926, the Rudolph Wurlitzer Company of New York installed a new pipe organ to provide musical accompanyment for silent film. It consisted of a console with two keyboards and seven sets of pipes. The chambers included a complete percussion division with every effect needed for concert or film score performances, including bass and snare drums, piano, tambourine, cymbals, horns, sirens, a bird call, and many other sounds.
In the 1980's the theater was restored to its original glory. It is the area's only remaining vintage movie palace with a vaudeville stage. During the renovation, the Wurlitzer was expanded to 20 ranks playable from a new four manual (keyboards) console.
The theater serves as a multipurpose facility with capacity for film showings, live productions and meetings, and is a registered historic landmark.
Click on the link for more information about Fargo