Picture 5 of 29
Around 1760, Charles Washington, the youngest brother of George Washington, bought two lots in the new section of town laid out by his brother-in-law, Fielding Lewis. Charles built this frame dwelling and it was his home for the next twenty years, until he moved westward to establish the town known as Charles Town, West Virginia.
In 1792 the house was leased to John Frazier, who announced the opening of the Golden Eagle tavern. Through the years and a succession of keepers, the tavern was known as the Eagle and the Golden Eagle. In 1821 it was renamed the Rising Sun by a new tavern operator and continued under that name until 1827 when the building once again became a private residence.
Click on the link for more information about Fredericksburg, Virginia