Picture 26 of 69
North side of the Mansion, showing the Palladian window of the Large Dining room.
The original building was a two-story structure that constituted the center of the mansion, defined by the two fireplace chimmenys. From 1759 through 1774, a third floor was added to the structure. The outer wings and cupola were added to the building from 1775 through 1778.
Click on the link for more information about Mount Vernon