Picture 28 of 69
View of the Mansion from the Potomac river.
The original building was a two-story structure that constituted the center of the mansion, defined by the two fireplace chimmenys. From 1759 through 1774, a third floor was added to the structure. The outer wings and cupola were added to the building from 1775 through 1778.
Click on the link for more information about Mount Vernon