Picture 43 of 69
The "repository for dung" was designed to compost animal manure and a variety of organic materials to "cure" into fertilizer for use in the nearby gardens and orchard. The building illustrates George Washington's dedication to finding ways to improve the fertility of his soils, and to convert Mount Vernon into a model of progressive farming. The original 31 x 12 foot, open-walled structure was built in 1787. This building was reconstructed in 2001. Archaeologists revealed remnants of the brick foundation walls, along with the virtually intact cobblestone floor, and they have been incorporated into the reconstructed building.
Click on the link for more information about Mount Vernon