Picture 44 of 69
The rear of the stable
The brick stable at the foot of the south lane was built in 1782, replacing a frame stable on the same site that had been destroyed by a fire the previous year. The stable was reserved for the use of the family's coach and saddle horses, and the horses of the hundreds of people who visited George Washington each year.
Click on the link for more information about Mount Vernon